UK Bus Awards 2012: The Results

The 2012 UK Bus Awards took place at the London Hilton Hotel earlier this afternoon (Tuesday 20th November).

Winner of the UK Bus Operator Of The Year was awarded to Nottingham City Transport, the other top winners were Ensignbus who won Independant Operator Of The Year, Reading Buses who won Shire Operator Of The Year and Nottingham City Transport won the City Operator Of The Year.

On a local note both Konectbus for 'konectexpress8" and Stephensons Of Essex for 'breeze' were up for the Putting Customers First award, unfortunately they were pipped to the post by Go North East, but both were highly commended.

Go Ahead Group lead the way as the biggest winners scooping six awards, Top Express Operation went to Oxford Bus Company for the Airline, Top National Bus Depot went to Metrobus' Crawley depot, Putting Passengers First went to Go North East for Moving with our people, Brighton & Hove's Ron Hayes won the Unsung Heroes Award, Go Ahead London's Roy Lambe won Top London Bus Driver and last but not least Top London Bus Garage was awarded to Go Ahead London's Merton depot.

Trent Barton did well picking up four awards, the Rapid 1 service won the Making Buses A Better Choice award and their Mango smartcard system was awarded the Marketing Excellence Award, meanwhile two staff members won awards, Young Manager Of The Year was awarded to Tom Morgan and Top National Bus Driver was Allan Gilmour.

Of the other big operators Stagecoach won the Innovation Award for its Megabus Sleeper Service, Arriva took the Engineer Of The Year award (won by Russell Cato from Arriva The Shires) and Firstgroup were awarded the Environment Award for their Small Changes, Big Difference project and their Northern division won The Bus And The Community Award.

Other awards included the Local Authority Project Of The Year which went to Nottingham City Council, The Eureka! Award for Marketing Initiatives was won by Reading Buses for Jet Black is the New Black and Transport For London's commissioner Peter Hendy was recognised in the Services To The Bus Industry Award.

There were two special awards for the London 2012 Olympic Games this year, the Special Award for the Planning and Execution of Bus and Coach Transport for the 2012 Olympic and Paralympic Games was awarded to several operators and organisations, those being Arriva Passenger Services; The Community Transport Association; FirstGroup plc; LOCOG; Mott MacDonald; The ODA; Stagecoach Group and Transport for London whilst the Transport Heroes of the 2012 Games was awarded to Simon Green and Stephen Walker from Transport for London.

For more information about the UK Bus Awards including the full list of winners and runners upclick here to visit the UK Bus Awards website!